Braising

The weather is definitely starting to get nippy around here , making me very grateful for my lovely new winter coat.  As well as for nice hearty meals.  A particular recipe caught my eye last week, and instead of languishing in the stack of recipe printouts that litters my kitchen (to the constant frustration of the Boy), the ingredients for this one made it right onto my shopping list: bitchincamero’s Stout-braised Sausages with Apples, Pears and Cranberries

It was a really fun recipe to plan for and to make: even the Boy got really into it.  Fairly hands-free, too, which is nice for a weeknight.  I was able to easily juggle laundry while it was in the oven.  We served it with mashed potatoes, which was a nice side.  There were a few things that I would do differently next time (and oh yes, there will be a next time! I foresee lots of braising in our future!)  Personally I’m not a huge fan of pears, so I’d skip ’em and double the apples (which I looovvve).  The fresh cranberries were nice, but you could probably toss in dried towards the end for the same effect.  We used chicken sausages (the “feels like fall” variety at Whole Foods – really corny name but they were pretty good), but next time we’ll try it with pork sausages: the chicken ones were a little dried out by the end.  Some fat might do the recipe good.  Also, we used Guinness, but next time I’d definitely try a sweeter brown ale, say, a Newcastle.  There was a faint bitterness to the whole dish that we’d really like to eliminate.

But it was a great recipe to try: I loved the combination of flavors, and definitely enjoyed how easy it was.

Leave a Reply

